Forever Royal

It is that time of year again. We did the Royals 5K. This was Hubby’s first time running since he had his horrible bicycle accident. He was also not feeling well at all. I’ve been so scared that he is going to get pneumonia again. I thought maybe he would walk it and then go to the walk-in clinic at our doctor’s office after the race. Let’s just say that did not happen.

My mother-in-law and father-in-law came over as usual for these things. Actually for early morning races they usually spend the night. They did not for this one. They probably wanted at least one night in their own bed. They had just gotten back the night before from a trip to Colorado they took with my father-in-law’s sister and her husband.

IMG_20170919_112743

We met our brother-in-law and nephew inside the stadium. Our nephew wanted to run the race with a friend, but the friend had not signed up yet. He signed up at the race. Hubby picked up our nephew’s race packet, but they probably could have gotten it on their own since they were there in time and before us. We chit chatted a bit before the run. We talked about race times. It sounded like Hubby was going to try to run. It made me nervous since we aren’t sure about his broken ribs and he has only slept in our bed a handful of times since the accident. Laying straight down still hurts a bit. He has been sleeping in the recliner most nights.

We lined up a bit ahead of what my pace would really be, but I wasn’t feeling too guilty about it because a family including a grandma was lined up in front of us. Now don’t hold this against me, but they definitely looked like walkers. I am no “spring chicken,” and I know people old enough to be my grandparents that kick ass when it comes to running. When you’ve been running long enough, sometimes you can just spot the walkers and has nothing to do with age or weight.

The start was pretty good. The weather was good. They only had one small water stop in the middle. There was only one family that cheered us during the course. There was nothing flashy like a marching band or even the Moose Man. Speaking of which, what happened to the Moose Man? It was just a 5K. Well it was a 5K that still allowed you to do a lap on the outfield. If you read any of my other posts you know I gotta get my high fives. KayCee (the guy that puts up the W for Royal’s wins) was giving them along with people dressed as hot dogs with Mustard, Relish and Ketchup. Leaving the stadium and going up the ramp is the only time I walked the race other than when I got water.

I finished about five minutes faster than I thought I would. I finished in 30:06.38. Hubby finished in 28:22 being sick and healing from broken ribs! He didn’t go to the clinic after the race because he said he actually felt much better. Unfortunately that feeling did not last long. His eye was red and swollen Sunday. He went to the doctor that Monday. He got some medicine and some eye drops. The kiddos and I are still okay. Meaning we haven’t caught it yet.

I hope Hubby can do his make-up for the Trolley Run soon. That zoo run is sneaking up fast. We still haven’t heard anything on the Star Wars Light Side race yet. So we are free from any race commitments after the zoo run, but if you know us, we will be signing up for more races soon.

Standard

One thought on “Forever Royal

  1. Pingback: More To Add | Goofy For Twins

Leave a Reply

