Random Thoughts And Being Anonymous

Well the Waddell Reed race was the last big race before the Goofy Challenge and I’m very worried about my husband’s training. He has not been running during the week like he should and he only started doing the long runs with me on the weekends after he finished the MS 150 in Kansas. I should be worried about my training. This challenge is no joke and I don’t really consider myself a “real runner.” At least it doesn’t come easy to me like my husband, but even he needs to train or he won’t finish the challenge.

We’ve done two big weekends of running together. I thought they both went pretty well. My mother-in-law and father-in-law have been very supportive by watching the kids for us while we run. I would normally take them with me and let them play at a playground along the way, but it is starting to get really cold. The last training run we went on my husband let me know how much he dreads them. He really wanted a group to run with instead of just the two of us. I tried to find some groups. We already belong to a few running groups, but they are not doing the same thing we are doing. I don’t see any of them taking back to back long runs like us. I’m sure it would have been nice to find a local group doing the same race, but  I just didn’t find anything like that. We only have two more big weekend runs before the big race. I hope he can suck it up and just deal with running with me. I couldn’t help but get my feelings hurt a little bit. I know I’m slower than him and we are mostly on our own on the run, but we are together every now and then on the walk breaks. I try not to take it personal and look at it as two different running styles.

I mentioned in one of my other posts how I was glad this blog was still anonymous. I say that because one of the moms from my multiples groups who has a blog had an incident on her vacation a few months ago. They have not had a family vacation since her quadruplets were born in 2011. So they took a nice little road trip out West. She had strangers try to take pictures of her kids and some lady actually figured out what hotel they were staying at and showed up to see the kids. CREEPY! I mean really who takes pictures of someone else’s kids? I would never do that unless they were wearing a cool Halloween costume or T-shirt with a cute saying and only if I had the parent’s permission. I had a friend who had a quad stroller with her twins in it and some kids she was taking care of at the time. Someone took a picture and posted it to a mom group on Facebook. I can understand that a little because the stroller is very interesting to see, but she should have gotten permission to take the picture. My friend found out when someone she knew on that mom group sent her a copy and asked if it was her. Thankfully the picture did not have anyone’s face in it. Now don’t even get me started on the lady that showed up at the hotel. That is just super creepy! What is wrong with people?

The mom with the quadruplets started her blog to let her friends and family know how they were doing. She has kept it going as kind of like a baby book/record her kids can look back on, read, and enjoy. She has done some writing as a guest on other blogs and mom websites. She has a much bigger audience than I do and so much more exposure. So I don’t think I’m in any danger of anybody stalking our twins, but still, I’m good with this being anonymous for now. I’ve been toying with the idea of posting pictures of us if/when we cross the finish line. Twins are so much more common now. I mean quadruplets are a lot more rare, but come on people, it is still rude and creepy to take pictures of another person’s kids. Ugh!

I am still searching for a job I can do at home, but the job search is not going well. I thought I would have more time but it seems like I have less and less. I was so proud of the fact that I wrote that one blog post only a day or so after the race, but then I didn’t get it posted until about two weeks later. It is just so weird. It seems like no matter what I do, I just don’t have time. Writing these blog post seem to go okay as long as I remember what I was thinking on my run. Anyway we are getting closer to the race and I’m getting excited.

Standard

Leave a Reply

