Show Some Green

I can’t remember if I signed us up for the Sweet 16 series or Rock the Parkway first, but as I keep saying, I want to keep up the momentum. Of course now that we are officially signed up to do the Goofy Challenge my husband is going to have to train, right?

Anyway, as I said in the last post the Sweet 16 series is a combination of 4 races that are 4 miles each. So the first one we crossed off our list was the Kansas City Track Club’s Westport St. Patrick’s Day Run. I have wanted to do this one for a while. My husband has always been kind of blah about it. I knew it was stroller friendly and we totally lucked out on this race within this series. I asked my mother-in-law if she could watch the twins during any of this and she said yes to all but this one. They were going to be out of town that day. That is why we were lucky. This race was the only one that was not at the “butt crack of dawn” (you will see me refer to this a lot when I get up early in the morning). So it was perfect for taking the kids.

11181538_10155566135510790_1519773836_oIt was a little cooler on race day than I expected. The twins were fine. We brought some dry clothes for us to wear and a towel to dry off on afterwards. We put the towel over the kids like a blanket and Baby Boy kicked his side off him. His sister was still a little chilly even with the towel, so my husband put my shirt on her and gave me his at the end of the race. My husband runs faster than me even if he doesn’t do anything other than bike riding. I’m not sure what the kids thought of all the costumes and green people were wearing during the race. He did tell me that toward the finish line Baby Girl kept hollering, “Go! Go! Go!” I guess she got caught up in all the cheering people do at the end of a race. I love that she did that.

The race was on 3/14/15. Some of you might know that was official “Pi Day.” For those of you that do not know or do not remember pi from math class, it is basically the number that never ends. The first part of it is 3.1415. I remember one of my math teachers had pi as her border for the top part of her classroom. Well she had whatever would fit in the room. You can Google pi to get the actual definition here. Since it was “Pi Day” they gave you a small key lime pie at the end of the race. We stuck around chatting with some hashers we don’t get to see very often (in case you haven’t read my previous post and do not know, hashers are basically runners and beer drinkers). We were some of the last people to leave and ended up taking a whole box of those pies home. They had a lot leftover at then end of the race and started giving whole boxes away to people. Some people told us we needed to go back and get some more since they were doing that. We shared with my in-laws when they got back to town.

All in all, it was a good run. We had fun. I think the kids had fun too. They never got out of the stroller, but they had chocolate chip cookies at the end. When you are a kid any day you get a chocolate chip cookie is a good day, right?

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

