Is There A Way To Capture My Thoughts Without The Aliens Sucking My Life Force

I thought it would be hard to do a blog, but it has been nice so far. I thought I would not have much to write, but something always happens with the babies, my running, and my husband. I think of these things at all different hours of the day and night. Sometimes it happens when I can’t get some place to write. It reminds me of this talk I saw on TED. I love it. Don’t get me wrong I am not saying in any way that my writing is any kind of masterpiece or that I am a creative genius. I am just saying I’ve written chapters of books, blog posts, love letters, etc all in my head. A lot of it was there only for a brief moment and disappeared or actually made it to paper but to only be a shadow of the original thought.

I am sure there are a ton of people who wish they had one of the gadgets from Stephen King’s The Tommyknockers. If you never read the book or watched the TV movie, one of the characters acquires some alien knowledge to create a machine that captures her thoughts anytime she wants to write. It was pretty cool except the whole aliens sucking the life force from her body thing.

Anyway, a lot of what I write comes to me while I am running. I think that is why running lets out so much stress. If you are not on a treadmill watching a TV show (like I do a lot) or running anywhere with headphones, it is just you and your thoughts. I really need that sometimes. It helps me figure out problems, think of blog posts, or just day-dream. Of course I am not so engrossed that I am not careful where I go or anything like that. I usually have the babies with me so I have to be alert. It just seems to let your mind break free of all other distractions like the TV, internet, etc. Of course I have my phone for emergencies and I start my Map My Run app. I finally got a new phone so I have Charity Miles added to it as well. I don’t pull up anything else though. I try to keep present in the moment with the babies, nature, or anything else around me.

When I first started the blog I was a little nervous, but I had the mindset that it was mostly just for me to stay accountable to my goal. It still is but it is has also been a wonderful outlet. I feel this has been a really good experience so far. I really like the idea of blog therapy. And if it has totally sucked so far you can blame my daemon, right?

Standard

One thought on “Is There A Way To Capture My Thoughts Without The Aliens Sucking My Life Force

  1. Pingback: Turkey Day And Training | Goofy For Twins

Leave a Reply

