A Shout Out To My Treadmill – Yuck

I hated running through junior high, high school, and college. I barely made the requirements to running a mile for the presidential challenge thing back in the 80s. It wasn’t all my fault though. I will never forget it. I was counting my own laps but the teacher wanted each of us to choose an “official” lap counter. When I came around my last lap my lovely frenemy said I had another lap to go. We didn’t have the word frenemy back then but I think that is a suitable word to use to describe her now. Anyway I had other negative experiences with running. Maybe I will go into them later, but this post could be really long if I did.

After I got out of college a friend of mine told me about Jazzercise. I loved it because I like to dance and it wasn’t like the old school aerobics classes. I bumped into a guy that dated a friend of mine in college and he asked me if I did any kind of workout. I proudly told him about Jazzercise and then he told me about the Hash House Harriers. He assured me that it wasn’t about drugs or anything like that. It is just a group of runners that like to drink beer.

If you know anything about the Hash you know their motto is that they are, “a beer drinking club with a running problem.” Each group you meet has similarities but each one can be very different. I was lucky enough to join a group that had a really good balance between the running and beer drinking. You had a great adventurous run outdoors and then had a few beers with some friends. It wasn’t a big kegger party like some groups do. The runs my original group did reminded me of being a kid. I was a bit of a tomboy and I loved to explore the woods and trails around our house and on my grandfather’s private land. Our Hash group would do all kinds of runs like that. They really brought the love of running out of me.

I could go on and on about the Hash but as I said before this post would end up being super long. I’m sure this won’t be the last time I mention them especially since they are the reason I got into running. I did Pike’s Peak because a large group of the older members did it and I really look up to them. That was kind of my gateway into just regular road running. I had to train so I ran whenever I could fit it in and wherever I could do it. It was also the end of Jazzercise. There are all kinds of cool running gear and clothes out there but for the most part running is very cheap. I really hate paying membership fees as I think I mentioned in a previous post. The only way I am going to join a gym or an exercise class is if they could show the babies a good time while I workout. That or if they have something extra special I want that I do not normally get to do like rock climb.

So I am sure you are wondering what all this has to do with my treadmill. Well I just wanted to give you a little background information. I know a lot of people do not like treadmills. I know a lot of people do not like road running and only run on wooded trails. I used to think I was the latter. Now that I have small children I am a fan of anything that can get me moving.

We originally got the treadmill because we came across a really good deal and my husband and I both hate running in the cold weather. We also hate the fact that the winter days are shorter. A treadmill is very handy like that. I have also gotten some really good speed training thanks to my treadmill. I mean I can set that sucker to my desired pace and it is just me and my will standing in the way of finishing my goal. It is also nice to be able to catch up on your shows if you have a tablet or DVR. You just run and watch the drama.

I still miss running on wooded trails. One of the things I used to love to do was hike up the “difficult” side of Pinnacle Mountain, go down the “easy” side, and then do the base trail back to my car. I think all of that was only about three miles, but it was almost all up hill. Pinnacle Mountain is not a real mountain in terms of places like Pike’s Peak, but it was still a workout. I also loved the view at the top before they did all the development around that area. That is another silver lining to treadmill running. It gives you an appreciation for any running you do outdoors including road running.

My main point is that I am glad we have the treadmill. It has helped me train during the winter when I couldn’t take the babies outside. It has helped me train when I haven’t had any other time to train than when they nap. It has helped me train to go faster. A lot of people knock the treadmill, but I wouldn’t be where I am today if we did not have one. So thank you to my husband and Sears for our treadmill. It has been at least two years now or maybe three and I still use it as designed and not as a clothes line.

Standard

One thought on “A Shout Out To My Treadmill – Yuck

  1. Pingback: Turkey Day And Training | Goofy For Twins

Leave a Reply

