My Wicked Good Half Marathon

The weather started out nice. The temp was blah blah blah blah. I’m pulling your leg. I won’t do that to you. Although I will say that my husband kept telling me I was going to get rained on during the Garmin Half Marathon. I looked at Google weather and it only looked like a 10% or 20% chance. Here is hopefully a quick summary of the weather. It was in fact nice at the start. It clouded up when I got to mile four. It sprinkled on us when I got to about mile six. It hailed a bit a mile seven. It poured on us before I got to mile eight, and then it stopped about the time I got a little past mile ten. I blame the hat I wore for the hail. I wore my Pike’s Peak hat. I think I have mentioned how that one went in my previous posts. If you don’t remember here is short version of that one. I trained for a half. I got to the last aid station from the top and they turned me around because of the lightning storm and hail. So I ended up almost doing the full marathon that day.

10373379_10154162332030790_1607485702_o

I was actually looking forward to a little rain for my Garmin run. I have been coughing and sneezing ever since we got back from the cruise. My allergies have been driving me crazy. The rain helped me breathe a little better. I just wished the temperature had not dropped so much. I wore my arm sleeves just in case because I hate getting cold. I got some under arm chafe either from them or my shirt. It still hurts but at least it isn’t bleeding like my legs were after I did the Pilgrim Pacer Half Marathon a few years ago. I wore capris this time so that wouldn’t happen.

There were a few things that made me laugh on this course. The costumes were one thing. We had a few Dorothys and some witches. I saw maybe one scarecrow and one tin-man. Being a hasher you would think I would be wearing a costume, but I haven’t been feeling the costume vibe a whole lot lately. I love dressing up the twins for Halloween, but I just haven’t felt the need to dress up myself in some time.

I laughed at the signs for the first water stop. There was reference to melting witches. There was also a few cardboard cut out witches there. I saw one lady take a selfie with one of the witches.I didn’t see any other Wizard of Oz references until almost the end. There were a few signs there too. I don’t remember what they said. I don’t remember much about the end at all except the “yellow brick road” at the finish. I was definitely tired and walking more the last three miles.

I also found it funny that some people were being so careful about getting their feet wet. I just powered through a few puddles. I did not splash anybody. That would have been rude. I guess that is something else I am used to doing coming from a hasher background. I ran a lot of trails with wet feet in my time. I have run through ponds, rivers, and ditches. One time someone set a trail that had us in a ditch for almost three miles! The bushes and trees were too thick on the sides to just follow it. I was not happy with the guy that set that trail. I wasn’t mad so much about my feet being wet as I was about the possibility of falling and busting my behind. It was summer and the ditch was mostly moss and algae as opposed to water. I have always found the bright side of running with wet feet to be that at least my feet will be nice and soft when it is all said and done.

All and all it was a pretty good run. I did better than I thought I would. According to my Map My Run app I did 13.4 miles. I guess I was a ways away from the start. It also said I did a 12:19 average pace. My official race results were emailed to me which was super nice. That said I kept a 12:12 pace. That is huge for me. I know some of you fast folks might think that is slow, but I’ll take it. It makes me laugh to think of an interview with Kara Goucher talking about how slow a 10 minute mile pace felt to her while she was pregnant. I know she is a professional and all, but shoot I’d love to have a 10 minute mile pace.

Since the theme of my post seems to be about things that make me laugh or put a smile on my face, I have to say seeing the twins at the end was super awesome. I’m sure my face must have lit up when I saw them. My husband and his parents brought them. I am so grateful to them for bringing the babies. I gave Baby Girl and Baby Boy a big kiss. That was the real highlight of my run.

Standard

Leave a Reply

