Got To Get Faster

I actually got up a little early and jumped on the treadmill to do a long run a few weeks ago. There was an infomercial on about some workout that only took 25 minutes. I kept hearing them talk about how great it was to look so good and only have to spend 25 minutes a day to do it. I have to say, an hour into my run I was tempted to jump off the treadmill and give them a call. I actually still wonder if I should do it just for cross training. I mean if I loss more weight I will get faster, right?

Of course the closer I get to my marathon the longer my runs get. My Saturdays are slowly disappearing. I just don’t have the time for these long runs. I bust my butt to get my miles in during the week. By the time I try to get that really long run in on Saturday, I’m exhausted. It seems like I am always trying to think of different ways I can get my mileage in and still do what I need to do as a wife and mother.

I thought I read an article in Runner’s World that there was a 3 day a week marathon training schedule somewhere. I have tried to Google it, but I can’t seem to find it. How great would it be to eliminate 2 days from my training to do other things. The only other solution I can see is to get faster so my runs don’t take as long. I am just not sure if I am built for speed.

I am starting to dread my runs. I actually got into running by joining the Hash House Harriers when I was younger. The group I ran with made running fun and I am not talking about the beer. It has been hard doing this on a treadmill or even on paved trails. I don’t think the jogging stroller would do real well on a nature trail. I think I am going to have to ask my hubby or someone else to watch the babies while I go on a run on a nature trail or something. I have got to get my groove back some how.

I have been thinking all of this and I got an email with this article in it about why some runners quit. Then I saw this quote in another email the same day. I get these quotes from Runner’s World everyday.

You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can’t know what’s coming.

Frank Shorter

 

Right now I think that once I am done with the Goofy Challenge, I might just stick with 5Ks and 10Ks. I don’t want to quit running, but I still want to enjoy it. I might keep doing half marathons. I just don’t think I am going to be joining the Marathon Maniacs anytime soon. Of course I say that now. Who knows what will happen once I finish my first marathon. I know and have read about some people who just love it. I do like races. Races are a lot of fun, but training for it, not so much.

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Got To Get Faster

  1. Aaron says:

    I think you’ve got the right idea. If running used to be something you enjoyed doing but it has become a chore and something you dread, you need to reevaluate your reasons for doing it. Either it will be worth it to achieve your goals or it won’t be and you can adjust your training accordingly. All that is to say, if marathon training seems like it’s turning you off from running, there’s nothing wrong with bringing it down a bit and running ‘only’ 5Ks and 10Ks. Make sure it’s fun!

    Oh, and one (psychological) trick that might help for the long run is to shift your thinking so that it is the start of your week and once you’re done that all you have left are short runs for the rest of the week!

    • Hi Aaron,

      You are my first comment and I love your suggestion! My weekends can get so busy with family time and I don’t want to miss out on it. Since I was able to reduce my hours with my work, I thought maybe I should do my long run during the week. I figure I’ll have to use a mixture of my treadmill and the paved trails near us, but it might be doable if I plan everything right. Thank you so much for your comment.

      • Aaron says:

        I know how challenging it can be with kids and family time. I hate having a run looming over my head for the entire day so I try to get out first thing in the morning (even before breakfast!) just so that it’s done and over with and then I have the rest of the day to do whatever the family would normally do. Good luck trying to fit all the running in!

Leave a Reply

