Stealing Thunder Or Just Doing What Comes Natural

I have been told men are not that complicated. When you ask a man what he is thinking and he says nothing, he really means it. He is thinking about absolutely nothing. I have also been told that women over analyze. So when my husband recently said he wanted to do the Goofy Challenge as well, I didn’t know how to process it. So here I am analyzing it.

As you can tell this is important to me. I want to lead a healthy life for me and my kids. My parents’ health has taught me that I need to be more active the older I get. I see people their age doing things that are hard for me at my age. I know people in their 80s still doing marathons. I know people in their 60s that do the Pikes Peak Half Marathon and then turn around the next day and do the full. That is one of the reasons I thought I could do the Goofy. I mean at least there is not a huge mountain involved.

Anyway as of right now I have not even done a marathon. My husband has done the Dublin marathon twice, and as I mentioned before, he ran in high school. It kind of feels like his competitiveness is coming out to play here. It is like I can’t do this on my own or if I do it, I would be showing him up or something. I kind of feel like bicycling is more his thing now. So part of me feels like he is just jumping on the band wagon.

Then again running was his first love in high school. Having me around talking about it so much may have rubbed the idea off on him, and it sounds like fun to him. He might think I will get faster and we can actually do it together. Like I said, I am slow. Any time we have ever ran together we fight. He tries to get me to run faster than I can, and if he runs at my pace he complains how slow it is. He even says how much it hurts his legs to run that slow. That is when I tell him to go ahead. We can meet up at the end of the run. I think that is what will still happen. I think my training might help me get a little faster, but I do not think we will ever run at the same pace. Am I being pessimistic? No, I think I am just being realistic.

So is he being competitive? Does he just want to spend time with me? Does he just want to do the race? Am I just over analyzing it?

Sidenote: I found my answer. My husband and I discussed it again recently. I am over analyzing. He just wants to do the race. He hopes that it will help motivate him back into running.

Standard

Leave a Reply

