Running outside is Fan-Freakin’-Tastic

It is finally feeling like Spring here. We had a nice day in between snow. I took the babies out in the jogging stroller. Man was that different. They were a lot smaller last time I took them out for a run. I have to say it was still a much better experience than the treadmill. I am sure some of you are rolling your eyes and saying, “Duh!”

I had no back pain. I had no pain behind my knee. There was fresh air. The only bad thing was dogging the dog poop. I mean really. I think I ran across at least three piles every mile! It is one thing to step in it, but when you get it in other places that is just super gross. How do you get it anywhere else you ask? Well we hang the jogging stroller from the ceiling of our garage. So if dog poop gets on the wheels, it gets on me. I really don’t understand some people. I have had a dog and I have lots of friends that have dogs. If you are not going to pick up after your dog then at least lead them off to the side of the trail. This particular trail has lots of room on the side between the path and the trees. Fido can do his business there. Picking up after your dog is the best thing though.

I dreaded going back to the treadmill when it snowed again, but I do have to admit it helps me know my pace and speed. I am sick again and I am not doing much running at all. I can barely breathe standing still. Also the kiddos are not as cooperative about being in the stroller so long. I let them play in the park after the run, but that did not stop them from fussing a mile before we got there. They are still so young. They do not understand the reward after the ride. Maybe they will get it if we do it enough times. Be good and chill. The reward is coming. I will keep my fingers crossed.

Standard

Leave a Reply

