Getting Started

A blog? Everybody has one, right? A parenting blog? There is like a zillion of those. An exercise/running blog? Isn’t that genre a little saturated as well? Welp… here is another one. I am starting this little jewel to vent about parenting, running and marriage. It is also to keep me accountable to one of my bucket list items. In a few years I want to take the twins to Disney World for a vacation, but I also want to run The Goofy.

In case you do not know what The Goofy is, it is actually called Goofy’s Race and a Half Challenge. You run the half marathon one day and then the full marathon the next day all at Disney World. My inspiration for it came from some of my friends running Pike’s Peak half and then the full marathon the next day. I thought if they are crazy enough to run up a freakin’ mountain twice and once down it, then I can do something similar on flat land.

I actually tried the Pike’s Peak half once back in 2005. I almost made it, but the weather caused them to cancel the race. I was at the last aid station. Since we were on the trail, there is no car to take you to the start. You have to hike back down the mountain yourself. I almost freaked when this thought occurred to me. I trained for a half not 22 miles (we walked from our hotel to the start). I didn’t think I could make it but I did. I’ll probably write more about this later, but I want to keep my first post short and sweet. Actually I’d like to keep most of my post short and sweet.

I have several blogs I like to read and one reason is that they do not blabber on and on about something. They give you a little bit and explain more another time. I just want to note two more things. If you have in fact heard of The Goofy and want to tell me about The Dopey, don’t. I already know about it. I’ve had The Goofy on my bucket list for a while. I would like to check it off first and then maybe consider The Dopey. The Dopey, by the way, is the 5K, 10K, half and full marathon.

The other thing I want to touch on is bucket lists. I have been working on mine since I was in my early twenties. I got laughed at because I was so “young.” I don’t think you are too young or too old to work on bucket lists. You never know what tomorrow is going to bring. If you have an opportunity to do something you’ve always wanted to do, I say go for it. I’ll touch on these later, but some of my bucket list items I have checked are scuba diving, rock climbing, travel to England, and travel to Ireland to name just a few. I still have a few on my list. I am not sure if I’ll ever check them all off my list. I think having a bucket list is half the fun.

Oh and I don’t think I know anybody that has done any of the marathons there. So if you have any tips, please leave a comment. I have a few years to prepare, save, and train.

Standard

Leave a Reply

